armadillas



Split the Big One

I’m supposed to be posting about the long hours I spent preparing Thanksgiving dinner last Sunday with my friends…but it seems the doughnuts I made tonight are taking precedent. I mean, hello! We’re talking about doughnuts here. As wonderful as my new cranberry sauce recipe is, I’m just way to excited about eating some fried dough to dwell on last week. Sure, these doughnuts aren’t 100% made from scratch. I admit the only reason these babies made it into existence is because I opened the fridge and saw a can of biscuits just begging to be made into something greater. But when you have a sudden doughnut craving, sometimes you have to bite the bullet and accept a little help from Pillsbury. I’ll make them from scratch next time…

Ingredients:

  • 1 roll of biscuits
  • 7-8 cups canola oil

Glaze

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 3 tablespoons milk (as needed for consistency)
  • Pinch salt

Apologies (using the mighty voice of Spartacus), but I didn’t start taking photos until halfway through. It seems I’ve become so accustomed to my camera being out of commission I keep forgetting that it actually works now. Oh well. Heat the oil on medium high heat in a dutch oven or some sort of pot/pan with high sides. The oil should be over an inch deep and reach 350-375 degrees.

Meanwhile, pop that can of biscuits open and find something to start cutting holes in them with like a salad dressing bottle!

Now that your oil is nice and hot, carefully drop the doughnuts in 3-4 at a time. You don’t want to overcrowd them. My tongs were in the wash, so I used chopsticks. I really love how versatile chopsticks can be!

 

 

They cook really quickly, so flip them over after 30 seconds or so when they are golden brown. When both sides reach the desired color, carefully use your chopsticks to pull the doughnuts out and drain on some paper towels. Or some paper bags. Whatever you have handy!

 

Don’t forget to fry up the doughnut holes!

 

Once all your doughnuts are fried, you can start glazing them. Yum! Mix together the powdered sugar, vanilla, butter, salt, and milk until the glaze reaches a gooey consistency. It shouldn’t be too too thick, but it’s your glaze. You have artistic license to do as you will!

Once again, don’t forget the doughnut holes!

 

Aren’t they beautiful? All that’s missing is a tall glass of milk

 

Yes please. Thank you!

 

Enjoy!

Tijuana

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Christine says:

    You had Ruth drooling last night! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 8 months ago
  2. * armadillas says:

    Then my job is done 😀

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Brittany says:

    i made these when i took home ec… we used bottle caps from soda bottles lol =)

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

