armadillas



Heat of the moment

So. Much. Cranberry sauce! I honestly don’t know what to do with it all. But…it was a hit at the luncheon. I’m so happy. I was really nervous there for a second. I kept thinking they aren’t going to like it. It’s too tart and is going to end up back in my kitchen again. Thankfully, that was not the case. Someone even took some of the leftovers home with them. Hallelujah! That certainly made my day. But I still have more sauce left in my fridge than I would care to have in there. So I was thinking. Why not cook it up with some pork. It’s holiday season and I always see magazines at all the sores with lovely photos of pork loin served with cranberry sauce. I could totally do that! Of course, I didn’t have a pork loin on hand, but I’ve always been one for improvisation and a couple thick cut boneless pork chops will serve the same purpose. It’s like a pork loin cut in half… right guys?

Anyway, my dinner tonight was inspired by The Pioneer Woman. I like how that woman handles here meat! She provided her own recipe for cranberry sauce, but for obvious reasons I just used the one I already had handy. But by all means, use her method. Looks pretty good!

Ingredients:

  • 2 thick cut pork chops, boneless
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Cranberry sauce

First, wash your meat! Pat dry with paper towels and season generously with salt and pepper. Lots of pepper. In a castiron skillet, heat 2 tablespoons of oil. When the oil is nice and hot, we are going to sear our pork chops. Mmm mmm mmm. Unfortunately, I forgot my camera was back in business until this moment. Oops

 

Once it’s nice and brown on both sides (the color here does not do it justice), pop the whole thing, pan included, into a 425 degree oven

 

Meanwhile, reheat the cranberry sauce in a small pan

 

On a whim, I added some honey

 

After ten minutes, check your chops with a meat thermometer if you’re a little on the paranoid side like me sometimes

 

I seriously think my meter is broken. Either way, your meat should read 155-160ish.  Just look at that color!

 

Yum yum yum. Serve with a good glob of cranberry sauce on top. Perfect. just perfect!

 

It tastes especially good sliced and piled up on a dinner roll. Enjoy!

Tijuana

Leave a Reply

