armadillas



Thistle

 

You see that beauty? That there is a 1997 Nissan Pathfinder. She may be a little aged with a few nicks and dinks in her, but she’s my baby. I mean, she’s got 4wd, great cargo space, a sunroof, cruise control, running boards, a spacious drivers seat, air and heat, a roof rack, plus okay speakers for my radio. Who am I to complain? But having an older vehicle does mean things start to go. For instance, I had a severe oil leak and had to recently replace a lot of junk under there (gaskets, seals, etc). Now, my a/c is running high and won’t switch to the other settings. The likely problem? Blower motor resistor. And of course, I don’t have a normal, run-of-the-mill standard resistor. Nope, I have an automatic climate control resistor which is fancy for it’s gonna cost me more $$$. Leave it to me to have special needs. Fortunately, there’s a place not too far away where I can pick parts from used vehicles. Besides, the good thing about driving an older lady is that I sure am learning a lot about how to do things myself.

FYI, I can now:

Change my own oil

Change my own spark plugs

Change a tire

Change a battery

Clean a corroded battery

Jump a car

Level my own fluids when the shop forgets to do it themselves (I’m a little bitter, yes)

Replace a blower motor resistor

Once upon a time, I couldn’t do any of these things. But with the help of Youtube, the boyfriend, and the helpful texts of some mechanic friends of mine, I am becoming ever knowledgeable on the workings and maintenance of my lovely means of transportation. It shames me to think that there was once a time that if my air stopped working, I wouldn’t have investigated to find the problem. I would’ve just gone without air and pretended that I enjoyed having the windows rolled down ALL THE TIME.

Now I pull out the tools to take apart my glove box

 

Locate the blower motor resistor

 

And remove the blower motor resistor

 

Now I can take those tools to Pick-n-Pull, repeat the whole process, then return home and do it all in reverse. With the help of the boyfriend, of course. But soon I won’t need his guidance at all! My grandma always wanted me to take a class on basic automotive mechanics. Guess her wish is coming true!

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

