armadillas



Spells

Today I’m going to go on a little rant for ranting’s sake. You see, I’ve been job hunting, submitting applications left and right. There must be near 30 applications out there with my name on them- and that’s just from the past three days. Needless to say, it’s not a fun process. No, not at all.

But it would be really nice if one of these applications turn into my saving grace and someone gives me a ring or shoots me an email. My fingers are double crossed. It’s ridiculous how easy it is to find a crap job that pays next to nothing and offers even worse hours, and how hard it is to find something stable. Eh, but that’s the complaint of everyone nowadays, isn’t it? At least by some miracle I manage to get my bills paid, have a roof over my head and food in my belly, and have supportive friends with which to drink wine and rant. Even when life seems low, there’s always a spec of gold to be found.

Plus, let’s talk about this magnificent weather. As a gal more inclined to favor the winter months over the summer months, this past week of 73 has been absolutely perfect. I took much joy in flinging open the windows and shutting off the a/c. I’ve even donned a sweater thrice already. Perhaps I’m acting a little prematurely, but this summer was pretty rough and I’m ready to welcome better times. So here’s to pumpkin spice, knee high boots, sweaters and scarves, mint hot chocolate, crisp air, hard cider, snuggling, bon fires, falling leaves, and all the other great things that come along with cooler temps. Ah, I’m in love and we’ve barely begun.

So let’s make some chicken. Remember those wings/drumettes I made the other day? Well, it just so happens that I had a second package of drumettes eager to be cooked. Mmm I’m thinking teriyaki!

Ingredients:

  • 1 package chicken drumettes
  • 1/2 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • Lemon juice
  • Pepper

I promise, one day I’m going to do these things up with flour and see how it goes. You know, just to see if the skin gets crunchy and not just crispy. But today, I chose the marinade route. You can’t go wrong with a good marinade. Wash your drumettes and put them in a bowl or shallow dish. If you have freezer Ziploc bags. that would work even better!

Pour the teriyaki sauce and oil over the chicken

Drizzle with as much lemon juice as your lemon-loving heart desires

Add a heaping spoonful of garlic. With cold weather coming, garlic keeps the flu away

Now mix with your hands! Or shake your freezer bag up. Set aside for at least half an hour to get the flavors going. The longer it sets, the better.

Arrange chicken on a foil lined baking sheet. Baking sheets help the skin crisp up better in my opinion, but by all means you can use a regular baking dish.

Bake for 40 minutes at 425 degrees. If you’re a little silly like me, forget to SPRAY the foil with PAM. Guess I like aluminum with my chicken! Serve with some fried rice.

Leave a Reply

