armadillas



Too hot for comfort

There’s just no hope. I don’t think I’m ever going to master the art of pancakes. It’s just not going to happen. This morning- or rather this afternoon- I tried whipping up a batch for brunch and now my kitchen has been converted into a smokehouse. And the smoke is slowly seeping into every other room in the house. Naturally, the boyfriend had some criticism reserved for my little griddle cakes. I told him when he starts cooking he can start complaining. I’ve never denied that he makes better breakfast than I do anyway. Hmph! I think I’m going to stay away from breakfast for awhile. I forgot there was a reason I bought a waffle maker. Olaf!

But last night’s dinner was a success! My dad came over for a bit and then we were joined by the boyfriends brother so I put the Hamburger Helper back into the cupboard and decided to roast some chicken thighs instead. You see, I’ve discovered the world’s best chicken recipe. Actually, I don’t think it’s the world’s best as claimed by Pinterest, but it’s pretty darn good! The chicken was juicy and flavorful. I think a little while longer in the oven and I might have gotten a crisper skin as well. Mmm I love oven roasted chicken. I bet the marinade would work on a whole roast as well, something I’ll have to try next time I have a whole chicken on my hands. If you’re feeling a little tired of chicken, I’ve tried this recipe on pork, too. Gotta love versatile marinades!

Recipe adapted from Rachel Shultz

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (the real stuff)
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Adobo seasoning
  • 1 pack chicken thighs (or cut of your choice)

If you’re silly like me, misread the directions and add equal parts Dijon mustard and equal parts maple syrup. Hopefully you’ll realize your mistake before it’s too late and bump the mustard up a little bit

 

And make sure to use REAL maple syrup and not that fake sugary stuff. Mine is straight from Quebec, a gift brought back for me by a friend almost 2 years ago. Took me long enough to pop that bad boy open!

(It’s in French!)

So yes, whisk together the mustard, syrup, and vinegar

Now take your chicken and give it a good rinsing off. Pat dry with paper towels. Place in baking dish and sprinkle with salt and pepper

If you’re feeling a little rebellious, add some Adobo. Aren’t those chickies beautiful?

Pour the sauce evenly over the chicken thighs and bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. Forget to take pictures. Be sure to check the chicken periodically to make sure the sauce isn’t burning. That’s what some of the reviews said, but I lowered my heat from the original recipe and everything was fine

Yum, I could smell the chicken from all the way outside! Remove from oven and serve with some roasted potatoes. You know, to keep with that theme

Such a simple recipe packed with great flavor! Remember my broiler craze? I think I”m about to embark on an oven craze…just in time for Fall. I’m so ready for cooler weather and all the great foods that come with it. Pumpkin, soup, apple cider, hot chocolate…the list goes on!

Leave a Reply

