armadillas



Something like magic

Today I woke up with a mighty craving. A strange craving, but a mighty one. First thing this morning, I was in the mood for something sloppy. You got it, I wanted a Sloppy Joe. Where did this need come from, I couldn’t tell you, but I’ve been thinking about one of those things all day long. I find it strange because I haven’t eaten one in probably a good seven years. Go figure.

But the Joe was a dear childhood favorite. I blame Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen. It all started with a scene from the movie It Takes Two. Anyone remember that movie? I’ll admit back in my tween years (or I suppose just before hitting the tween years), I was an Olsen fan. This one was one of my favorites and I remember watching it all the time. The most vivid scene I remember is one of the twins (I think it was Ashley) not wanting to eat the Sloppy Joes and then naturally falling in the love with. Just look at that face!

Classic! Just classic! Kids, always try something new. You never know when you’re mind will be blown away. Ever since that day, I’ve had this ideal of what a Sloppy Joe should be and could never find it. Manwich never really did it for me, which is probably why i haven’t eaten one in so long. But today is different. Today I will create my perfect Joe and it’s going to be amazing. Just ask Alyssa (Ashley). I think a monster was awakened that day.

Here’s to being a 90s kid! And to being a Pioneer Woman because I adapted this recipe from hers

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 an onion, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 2 tablespoons garlic, minced
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon crush red pepper flakes
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 tablespoons hot sauce
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Brown your beef. I like to use a large pot that way we can keep this as a one pot meal

 

In the meantime, dice your onion and green pepper

As you can see, my garden did yield that much green pepper. Make sure you find a nice big one. Makes all the difference in flavor! As this time, go ahead and mix together all your spices. You could just dump them in the pot later, but I had some time to kill

Once your beef is nice and browned, drain it and return to pot. Add in the onion, garlic, and green pepper

 

Wait for the onions to get translucent and squirt in the ketchup. I know. Sounds weird. Smells weird, too. But it will turn out. No fear

 

Stir it all together then throw in those spices you mixed up earlier. Don’t forget to salt and pepper to taste. I recommend keeping the heat on medium

 

The pioneer woman adds water to her Joes. I decided to get fancy and used chicken broth instead

 

Ah, it’s coming together now! Go ahead and add the Worcesterrrwoosectershirechur- that sauce that no one can pronounce!

 

Some tomato sauce emboldens the flavor

 

Let’s not forget the hot sauce. Sorry, dad. You were right. I did make it a touch spicy…

 

That’s okay. Spicy food keeps the doctor away! It’s almost time to eat. Let simmer for 15 minutes. The sauce will get nice and thick and before you know it you have good ol’ Sloppy Joes. If you’re anything like me, wear a bib and leave the whites in your closet

 

Serve with a slice of cheese and some fries and go watch the Redskins dominate in preseason!

 

I think from now on I’m going to serve these guys in a sub roll or hot dog buns. You know, to minimize the mess just a teensy bit

Tijuana

 

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * stepfordtart says:

    Over here in UK-shire, where Worcestershire actually is, we just call it “Wuss-ter” sauce. Worcester is the town and Worcestershire is the county. If you just say Worcester you will be doing the same as 56 million English people. We all know its “Wuss-ter-sher” really but we call live without the extra syllable, to be honest!

    Thanks for this recipe – Sloppy Joes are the kind of thing we see on US tv all the time but are SO American that they just dont feature in our recipe books anywhere. I guess a bit like you guys and Cornish pasties, huh?! s x

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

