armadillas



Sweet sweet mercy

I’m a gardener. Actually, I only attempt to garden and even that I manage to muck up. My green thumb simply has not developed yet, though my mint and basil are flourishing as well as my salsa peppers. See, look at those babies!

Despite my gardening shortcomings, a few tomatoes have managed to struggle through my neglect. I save a few from the birds every week

Have you ever eaten a tomato straight off the vine? Oh goodness, it is one of nature’s divinities. There are few things in the world more enjoyable than biting into a tomato still warm from ripening in the sun. You can practically taste the sunshine in the juices

I never really liked tomatoes all that much growing up. Unless they were made into some sort of salsa or spaghetti sauce. Hey, I admit I was a picky kid.  As I got older, sure I’d order them on my sandwiches but usually picked them off before I got to the third bite. But fresh tomatoes from the yard are rapidly changing my mind about this lovely little fruit. I’m sure it could change your mind, too, if you’re not already on the wagon. And they make a lovely snack sprinkled with salt and pepper. Slrrrp (that’s the sound of my mouth watering)

But of course, one thing that always comes to mind with fresh tomatoes is green fried tomatoes. I blame the movie

 

The fried tomatoes I made today are very simple. I’m sure they would be better with some cornmeal mixed in with the flour, but you do what you can in a pinch

Ingredients:

1 green tomato (though, honestly, mine was on the yellow side)

1/2 cup flour

1 egg

Splash of milk

Pepper to taste

Salt to taste

Oil for frying

Heat oil in a skillet on medium heat, about 1/2 inch. Slice your tomato. I was only cooking for myself, but you can up all the ingredients for a crowd

 

Gather your other ingredients together. In one bowl, mix together the flour, salt, and pepper. Add cornmeal if you have some in your pantry. In a separate bowl, whisk together milk and egg

 

Dip your tomato slices in the egg and then dredge them through the flour. You know the drill by now! Fry for about 3 minutes on each side until nice and golden

 

 

Annnnnnnnd EAT! I think they have enough flavor to be eaten plain, but feel free to serve with some ranch if you have a need to do some dipping. Or even some ketchup if you’re feeling sacrilegious

Note to self: remember to keep out of cat’s reach. He has vegetarian tendencies after all… But at least he saved me from a stinging insect. Good Toby!

Leave a Reply

