armadillas



Bees knees

Like I said, the Alfredo deserved a post unto itself. It was creamy like I wanted. The peas added great color. And of course, the bacon provided a nice crunch and amazing flavor. Here’s to bacon!

But seriously, this was so easy to make and yet seemed like such a fancy meal. Perfect for someone’s special birthday dinner. Of course, it would have been even better if there had been shredded cheese on hand, but the stuff in that bottle/can thingy worked just fine…though, I am out of Parmesan now. Boo! Time to go to the market again

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of pasta (I used penne)
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 cups Parmesan, preferably grated
  • 2 lemons
  • 1 package bacon
  • 1/2 bag frozen peas
  • Pepper to taste
  • Fresh basil

Cook up the bacon (chopped up)! Which in my opinion is the best part of the dish. I admit I have a problem…

Melt the butter in a large pot. Make sure it’s big enough to hold all your pasta later. In the meantime, boil your pasta in separate pot

Once your butter has melted down, add the cream. Oh, and keep in mind that we don’t want burnt up cream so keep your heat on medium to medium-low. Whatever you’re comfortable with

After only a couple minutes, it’s okay to add the cheese. Stir stir stir! Terrible picture if I do say so myself

Your cheese is getting all melty and your sauce is thickening up. Squeeze in the lemon juice! Mmmm

I’m not adding salt to mine, but I’m pretty generous with the pepper

Toss in the peas please. I bet broccoli would be great in this. Ooh, or some chopped up red peppers. Ideas…

It doesn’t take too long for your peas to warm up, just a few minutes. By now, your pasta should be done. Drain and dump in right into your Alfredo pot

Now for my favorite part. Add the bacon. How exciting!

Because the basil in your box garden is going crazy, sprinkle some on top

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

 

Ah, now that’s some good pasta. All is right in the world for a glorious moment with my fork in my mouth.

Tijuana

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sparkle « armadillas pingbacked on 5 years, 3 months ago

Comments

  1. * Christine says:

    Alfredo is one of my favorite dishes to make. I was so surprised when I first made it how EASY it is to make! And it’s heavenly. Now Ruth will definitely want some bacon alfredo!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. * armadillas says:

    Oh my goodness, YES! It amazes me how complicated some of these dishes seem and yet it’s no more trouble than boiling up some pasta and heating up some cream. I highly recommend the bacon. Honestly, I was never a big Alfredo person but I’m pretty sure the bacon has converted me haha

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Ruth says:

    Bacon belongs in everything!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

