armadillas



Dionysus

I don’t eat a lot of snacks. A long time ago I learned that it was best not to tempt temptation and just leave all that stuff out of my cabinets. If I really want a cookie or some chips that badly, I’ll just have to whip it up myself…and usually I don’t really want it as badly as I thought. But there are those moments late at night when all you want is something crunchy to munch on. You have a craving so strong you could smack someone. Of course, those moments usually involve a little bit of vodka. But hey! We all like to indulge every once in awhile. Sometimes it’s just best to give in to your Dionysian nature and tell Apollo to beat it! Nietzsche, anyone? I had such a moment last night. The munchies took over and I raided my kitchen to no avail. That is, until I spotted the zucchini. You remember that giant zucchini that came into my custody? Well, it’s still kicking! So I decided to make some yummy crispy we-must-be-in-Italy zucchini chips.

(This big guy could feed a family for years! I still have a huge chunk left)

But there’s a catch! The hour was approaching midnight. Who really wants to heat up some oil that late at night and smell up the whole house. Not I! So rather than frying the zucchini, I decided to bake it. Go preheat your oven to 500 degrees! Also, I didn’t really do much measuring for this. Eyeball it. Things will turn out just dandy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 giant zucchini (or whatever zucchini you have on hand)
  • 1 egg
  • Flour
  • Italian style breadcrumbs
  • Hot sauce (I used Texas Pete)
  • Parmesan
  • Pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • Basil

If you like, go ahead and heat up some oil. In my opinion, these taste better fried anyway. But baking them is a close second. We have to pretend to eat healthy sometimes. Anyway, first pull out three bowls. Fill one with flour, one with breadcrumbs, and crack your egg into the third

Generously pepper the bowl with flour. Add the hot sauce in with the egg. Mix the breadcrumbs with a good amount of Parmesan (who doesn’t love cheese?), a dash of garlic powder and a dash of basil.

Next, slice the zucchini into thin disks. Thin=crispy

This is my least favorite part and probably the reason I don’t make a lot of fried foods such as chicken or country fried steak. Using your fingertips (or some tongs!) pat a zucchini disk down into the flour. Shake off any excess flour

Take that floured zucchini disk and coat it with the egg mixture

Almost there! Cover with breadcrumbs. I like a good dusting of breadcrumbs, but be sure not to let it get all clumpy. That wouldn’t taste so great

CLOB FINGERES!!!!!

Spray a cookie sheet with PAM. In my case, I used a pizza pan. It worked just fine. Place your zucchini onto the pan and bake for about 5 minutes. Flip and bake for another 5 minutes or until golden. They don’t take long and cook up real quick!

Eat! Naturally, these would be great with marinara, but ketchup got the job done just as well

Tijuana

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I *never* thought to cook zucchini like this, but it looks good! What was the texture like? How cooked did the zucchini get?

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. * armadillas says:

    This might sound kind of weird, but baking them up reminded me a little bit of baking chicken nuggets. I always bake my nuggets extra long and the zucchini took on that similar crispiness. But the inside wasn’t overdone or anything. Tender but firm! Oh, and the hot sauce gave it a little kick! Be warned

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

