armadillas



Shadow

Do you know what a pasty is? Until just a few moments ago, I certainly didn’t. You see, I’ve been reading this book, American Gods, and the main character has been eating a lot of pasties in the last few chapters. Never having heard of such a thing and being the foodie that I am, I decided to investigate. After a little Google search, I came across this video which I think did a pretty good job at explaining to me what exactly a pasty is. I also added these guys to my foodies page.

The pasty, commonly known as a Cornish Pasty, has strong ties to Cornwall, England. It’s said to have been eaten by Cornish miners, who carried this all-in-one meal on the go with them around the world. Apparently, it is heartily consumed in the northern regions of the United States. Cool! Traditionally, the Cornish pasty is made with beef and root veggies- swede (rutabaga), potatoes, carrots plus onions. But after consulting a British friend of mine, it seems cheese and onion pasties are quite popular as well. Seeing that I’m a little low on stewing beef and just so happen to have both cheese and onions on hand, I think we are going to try and make those first. Vegetarianism for lunch!

You know, I did get to thinking and I’m quite positive that in the future we can play around and use all kinds of fillings in our pasty. After I try a traditional beef one, I think I would like to make a chicken and spinach pasty. You know, with some good cheese and maybe some artichokes to boot. Oh, the possibilities!

Ingredients:

The dough

  • 3 cups flour
  • 4 tbs butter
  • 4 tbs lard/shortening
  • Water (I used about 1/2 cup…6-8 tbs)
  • Pinch of salt

The filling

  • Half an onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbs garlic, minced
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Dash of parsley

We will also need an egg to make an egg wash.

When it comes to making dough, I’m horrible. I just simply have not mastered the technique yet. So I am ever grateful that I have this lovely ninja to cut my butter and lard into my flour for me. Lifesaver! Well, it saves me some frustration anyway. Measure flour into your ninja (or food processor). Cut up your butter into chucks and toss that in too. Don’t forget to add the shortening! All this can be done by hand if you are better at it than I am

After several pulses, begin adding your water, only a little bit at a time. When your dough takes on the consistency of crumbs, you can stop. Presto done-o!

Dump contents onto your counter and gently work your dough crumbs into a dough ball by squeezing everything together. It doesn’t take much, just a few little squeezes. We don’t want to overwork the dough

(Your crumb-ies)

(Get your hands in there!)

(Beautiful!)

Now that your dough is nicely shaped, wrap it in some plastic wrap and send it to chill out in the fridge. Meanwhile, chop your onion and garlic. Combine with cheese. Season to taste with salt, pepper, and parsley. Throw some other herbs in if you like. The more flavor, the better

Make your egg wash by beating one egg in a bowl. It’s as easy as that. If you want, you can add a little water or milk to your wash. I’m fine with just the egg. Look! I remembered my brushes this time

Make sure to flour your surface before rolling out your dough

Remember how I said I wasn’t very good at making dough? Well, I’m not very good at rolling it out either! Practice makes perfect, practice makes perfect, practice makes perfect. Commit to your mantra!

Mmm smell your hands. Nothing like dough scented fingers. Now, using a plate as your mold, cut a circle out of the dough. Use whatever size you want. I decided to make one big one, but I bet little ones would be so cute! And yes, food can be cute…

Brush edges of your circle with the egg wash, then place filling to one side of the circle. We’re going to be making a crescent moon so don’t glob your filling smack dab in the center

Looks like some ham wanted to join the party. I guess we’re not going vegetarian for lunch after all

Fold filling-free portion of your circle over the filling-filled portion of your circle. Crimp edges to seal everything into a bundle of love. My crimping is primitive at best. Oh well

Before you stick it in the oven, brush everything with your egg wash. This will turn it a glorious golden brown. I personalized mine with some of the leftover dough scraps

Pop your love bundle into a 400 degree oven and bake for 30 minutes until it looks so pretty you don’t know what to do with yourself

Be patient, grasshopper. These things are piping hot little ovens in themselves! Right now, your cheese is like molten lava and your onions like burning coals. Trust me. I scorched my tongue. Impatience is not a virtue.

Note: this cheese pasty was not too bad for my first time, but I’d bet a million fireflies it would taste even better with a little bit of chopped potato mixed in. Scrumptious. Food for champions, haha.

Tijuana

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * stepfordtart says:

    Heeheehee, Pasties! How funny for someone from ‘over there’ making something from ‘over here’! Yes, pasties are traditionally Cornish (and a cheese and onion pasty does usually contain potato, you are right!) but you might also like to consider: chicken and mushroom (with a white sauce), sausage and baked beans, chicken curry, mixed vegetable, corned beef and potato, minced beef and onion. All of which are perfectly acceptable pasty fillings here. I have a little pasty cutter/crimper, which cuts the circles and does the folding/crimping for you. If I find one lurking in some distant corner of the Pound Shop (Dollar Store), I’ll get one and send it to you! s x

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago
    • * armadillas says:

      Ahhh, thanks so much! That chicken curry pasty sounds like it would hit the spot…as does the one with a white sauce! I had no idea there were such things as a pasty cutter/crimper. but then again I am a novice to the pasty world haha

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

